Hit and Run
If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI Hit and Run, you should immediately contact Orange County DUI Attorney William Weinberg to represent you and defend you. Mr. Weinberg has represented countless individuals who have been charged with DUIs, so he knows how to approach each case to achieve the best possible outcome. You should not take a DUI charge involving a hit and run because this means that you'll be charged with both a DUI, as well as a hit and run. If convicted of a first offense DUI, an individual faces up to six months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, the suspension of your driver's license, and three to five years of informal probation. Also, if convicted of a hit and run, an individual faces a three-year maximum jail sentence and a fine of up to $10,000. So, if you've been charged with a DUI Hit and Run, you should immediately contact Mr. Weinberg so that he can begin preparing the best possible defense strategy for you.Drunk Driving & DUI Charges
In California, police officers often respond to accidents and find out that the driver who caused the accident fled the scene. Oftentimes, the driver is later apprehended, and police officers find out that the individual who caused the accident was under the influence of alcohol, marijuana, and/or drugs. In such a situation, the prosecution can charge the individual with both a DUI under California Vehicle Code Section 23152, as well as a hit and run under California Vehicle Code Section 20002.
To prove the driver was under the influence at the time of the collision, police officers and the prosecution rely on statements made by the defendant, as well as eyewitnesses who observed the defendant's driving prior to the accident. Proving an individual was intoxicated at the time of the accident is more difficult than proving a regular DUI, especially if a significant amount of time passed from the moment the defendant caused the accident, and the police apprehended him.
As for the hit and run, California has a requirement that mandates that every individual who is involved in an accident must pull over and provide the other party with his information and proof of insurance. If an individual fails to pull over and provide this information, he may be charged with a hit and run in the State of California. If you're in the unfortunate situation of being charged with a DUI Hit and Run, contact Orange County Hit and Run DUI Attorney William Weinberg to defend you. Mr. Weinberg has extensive experience defending those who have been charged with this crime, making him a great criminal defense attorney to represent you.Examples of DUI Hit and Run
We have encountered a variety of DUI hit and run accidents, and not all of them are as dramatic as you may think. Some clients have come to us for representation after they've hit parked cars after having a few drinks. Others have smoked marijuana and collided with something that they believed to be an animal, and continued driving because they were unaware that they had collided with another vehicle or person. Regardless of why you were charged with a DUI Hit and Run, you should contact experienced Orange County DUI Hit and Run Attorney William Weinberg to represent you and defend you. Mr. Weinberg has the knowledge and experienced necessary to best defend you in court.More examples of DUI Hit and Run
- A driver is out with his friends drinking at a bar. He leaves to go home, and while he is exiting the parking garage, he hits a parked car. To avoid contacting the police, he drives home without leaving a note on the vehicle or calling the police.
- A driver already has a DUI, he has been drinking, and he is driving on a suspended driver's license. While driving, he gets involved in an accident and speeds away because he knows he's drunk and isn't supposed to be driving.
- A driver has been smoking marijuana; he collides with an object and believes it be an animal or road debris, he continues driving without knowing that he just hit a pedestrian.
For the prosecution to convict an individual of both a DUI and a Hit and Run in Orange County, California, the prosecution must show that the individual was (1) under the influence of alcohol, marijuana, and/or drugs at the time of the collision, and (2) that the individual was aware that an accident took place and that the defendant willfully neglected his duty to stop at the scene of the accident to exchange information and render aid to the other party involved in the accident. Proving that you were intoxicated at the time of the accident is difficult to do, especially if the police officers arrested you a long time after the collision. For the best possible results, please contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer to defend you.Contact an Experienced Attorney
If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI Hit and Run, immediately contact Orange County DUI Hit and Run Attorney William Weinberg at The H Law Group to defend you and keep you from going to jail and losing your license. Mr. Weinberg has represented countless individuals who have been in this situation, so he knows the best defenses to make, and how to achieve the best possible outcome for you. Schedule your free consultation today by emailing us at firstname.lastname@example.org or by calling us at (949) 474-8008.