Due to Covid-19, we're providing FREE consultations via Phone or Video with flexible payment options.

California DUI Lawyers Association
Avvo Clients' Choice
Expertise - Best DUI Lawyers 2016
ESPN Radio

DUI Penalties

If you or a loved one has been charged with a DUI in Orange County or elsewhere in the State of California, you might be wondering what the penalties are for a DUI conviction. We will explain them in much detail below. If you've been arrested for a DUI, contact    Orange County DUI Attorney William Weinberg to defend you and keep you from going to jail and losing your driver's license. You should not take DUI charges lightly because if you're convicted of a first time DUI offense, you face up to six months in county jail, a fine of up to $390, court fees, suspension of your driver's license, potential community service, as well as the completion of a DUI education program. So, if you've been charged with a DUI, marijuana DUI, or Drug DUI, you should immediately contact Mr. Weinberg for a consultation. Schedule your free consultation by emailing us at bill@williamweinberg.com or by calling us at (949) 474-8008.

DUI Penalties for a First Offense DUI

The following are the penalties for being convicted of a first offense (first time) DUI:

  • You can be sent to jail for up to six months
  • Payment of a fine of up to $390
  • Payment of court fees
  • Completion of a three-month DUI education Program (AB541)
  • 6-month suspension of your driver's license
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID)
  • Three to five years of summary probation
DUI Penalties for a Second Offense DUI

If you're charged with a second DUI within a ten (10) year period, the DUI will count as a second offense DUI, and if convicted, you face the following consequences:

  • You can be sent to jail for up to 12 months (mandatory 96 hours in jail)
  • Payment of a fine of up to $390 + penalty assessment (fines can easily exceed $2000)
  • Payment of court fees
  • Completion of an 18 month or 30-month DUI education program
  • 12-month suspension of your driver's license
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) for one year
  • Three to five years of summary probation

So, if you've been charged with a DUI, now you know that the consequences of a conviction can have some harsh consequences on your future. So, for the best possible DUI defense, contact Orange County DUI Lawyer William Weinberg to defend you and fight for you.

DUI Penalties for a Third Offense DUI

If an individual is charged with a third DUI within a ten (10) year period, the DUI will count as a third offense DUI, and if convicted, an individual faces the following consequences:

  • You can be sent to jail for up to 12 months (mandatory minimum of 120 days in jail)
  • Payment of a fine of $390 + penalty assessment (fines can easily exceed $2500)
  • Payment of court fees
  • Completion of a 30-month DUI education program
  • 3 years suspension of your driver's license
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for two years
  • Three to five years of summary probation
DUI with Injury (Misdemeanor) Penalties

If an individual is convicted of a misdemeanor DUI that caused an injury to a third party, the defendant faces the following potential consequences:

  • You can be sent to jail for a maximum of 6 months
  • Payment of a fine that ranges from $390 to $5000
  • Payment of restitution to the injured parties
  • Completion of a three-month, 18 months, or 30-month DUI education program
  • 6 months driver's license suspension if the defendant chooses to install an IID
  • If the defendant chooses not to install an IID, the suspension can last for 12 months
  • Three to five years of summary probation
DUI with Injury (Felony) Penalties

If an individual is convicted of felony DUI with injury, he faces the following penalties:

  • You can be sent to California State Prison for a maximum of 16 years
  • Payment of a fine that ranges from $1000 to $5000
  • Payment of restitution to any injured parties
  • Completion of a, 18 month or 30-month DUI education program
  • 12-month suspension of your driver's license
Felony DUI Penalties

If an individual is convicted of a felony DUI, he faces the following consequences:

  • You can be sent to California State Prison for 16 months, 24 months, or 36 months
  • Payment of a fine that ranges between $390 and $1000
  • Completion of an 18 month or 30-month DUI education program
  • Driver's license suspension of five years
Contact a DUI Lawyer

As you can tell by now, being convicted of a DUI is a serious problem. So, if you've been charged with a DUI, contact Orange County DUI Attorney William Weinberg to defend you. Mr. Weinberg has defended thousands of individuals who have been charged with DUIs. Mr. Weinberg is able to achieve successful results in most cases, so he definitely has the knowledge and experience to defend you in court. Schedule your free consultation today by emailing Mr. Weinberg at bill@williamweinberg.com or by calling him at (949) 474-8008.

Orange County DUI Lawyer Blog - DUI

Anyone who is arrested should contact an experienced Orange County DUI Criminal Defense Attorney to determine whether or not their Fourth Amendment rights against unreasonable searches and seizures, were violated.

Client Reviews
★★★★★
There are many things about our conversations that told me that Bill was an honest guy and knew what he was talking about. Amy C.
★★★★★
Extremely professional Marie K.